Faculty & Staff

Jeffrey Bartz, Professor of Chemistry (Chair)

Phone: 269.337.7021 Email: jeffrey.bartz@kzoo.edu

Professor Bartz teaches Chemical Composition and Structure, Chemical Reactivity, Physical Chemistry I, and Physical Chemistry II. His research group works in the area of chemical dynamics, focusing on the photochemistry of NO-containing molecules.

Professor Jeffrey Bartz

Jennifer Furchak, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Email: jennifer.furchak@kzoo.edu

Professor Furchak teaches Chemical Composition and Structure, Analytical Chemistry, and Instrumental Analysis. Her research interests are in analytical separations and spectroscopy.

Professor Jennifer Furchak

Regina Stevens-Truss, Professor of Chemistry

Phone: 269.337.7330 Email: regina.stevens-truss@kzoo.edu

Professor Stevens-Truss teaches Chemical Reactivity, Biochemistry, Medicinal Chemistry, and Infection: Global Health & Social Justice.  Research in her lab focuses on testing a variety of compounds for antimicrobial activity.

Professor Regina Stevens Truss

Dwight Williams, Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Phone: 269.337.7409 Email: dwight.williams@kzoo.edu

Professor Williams teaches Organic Chemistry I & II with the corresponding labs, as well as Advanced Organic Chemistry and Introductory Chemistry. His research interests combine synthetic organic chemistry and medicinal chemistry with pharmacology.

Professor Dwight Williams and students

Blakely Tresca, Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Phone: 269.337.7018 Email: blakely.tresca@kzoo.edu

Professor Tresca teaches Organic Chemistry. His research interests include Organic and Supramolecular chemistry.

Professor Blake Tresca

Laura Furge, Professor of Chemistry, Associate Provost

Email: laura.furge@kzoo.edu

Professor Laura Furge’s major area of interest is biochemistry with research interests in cytochrome P450 enzymes involved in drug metabolism. She is on the Editorial Board of the journal Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Education and is a member of the following professional organizations: American Chemical Society, American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and American Association for the Advancement of Science. Her personal interests include playing violin, sewing & quilting, and spending time with her family.

Professor Laura Furge

Timothy M. Shannon

Phone: 269.337.7017 Email: timothy.shannon@kzoo.edu

Professor Shannon teaches Inorganic Chemistry. His research includes Boron-based materials and water-based catalysis.


Jessica L. Stachowski

Phone: 269.337.7020 Email: jessica.stachowski@kzoo.edu

Professor Stachowski teaches Organic Chemistry. Her research interests include the Synthesis and Evaluation of Tirandamycin Analogs as Substrates for Cytochrome P450 Enzymes.

Professor Jessica Stachowski

Tom Massura, Instrument Technician

Phone: 269.337.7099, Email: tom.massura@kzoo.edu

Tom’s duties include maintaining all of the Instrumentation for the Science Division along with setting up Physics Labs. When Tom started at the College in 1987 computers were a rare thing to be found on campus. Now he maintains over 50 machines just used in the Science Division. In his spare time he enjoys spending time with his 2 children when they are home from college and spending time outside.


Michael T. Walsh, Director of Chemistry Laboratories

Phone: 269.337.7022, Email: michael.walsh@kzoo.edu


Betsy Paulson, Office Coordinator for Biology and Chemistry

Phone: 269.337.7007, Email: elizabeth.paulson@kzoo.edu